Klaus Fröhlich (Switzerland)

Education: Master in Communication Technology and PhD. in Technical Sciences (Electric Power Engineering) both at the University of Technology in Vienna, Austria

Main professional activities:
- Independent consultant in the field of the electric power system (since 1990)
- Full professor at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich, Switzerland (ETH-Z) (since 1997)
· Head of the High Voltage Laboratories
Head of the Institute for “Electric Power Transmission and High Voltage Technology”
Emeritus status (since 2010)
Key research topics: Smart Grids, fault current limitation, tonal emission of overhead lines, ageing
of HV insulation, life cycle cost estimation of substations
140 publications, conference papers and patents; supervisor of 35 Ph.D. students in close
collaboration with more than 20 companies in the electric power sector (70% external funding)
- Head of the Institute of High Voltage Technology and Switchgear at the University of Technology in
Vienna, Austria as a full professor (1990-1997)
- BBC/ABB-Switzerland and USA (1979- 1990):
Main topics: Development of high voltage equipment, power system studies
Head of high power testing technologies
Head of the ABB High Voltage- and High Current Development Laboratories (profit centre):
Tasks: basic- and product development, system studies, testing techniques, trouble shooting, EMC

Contributions to CIGRE:
- 6 working groups: 13.02, 13.04, TF38.01, 13/14.08, 33/23.12, 13.7 (convenor)
- Member of the Cigre Acoppe team (New look for Electra)
- Member of Study Committee 13
- Chairman of Study Committee A3 (2002-2006)
- Chairman of the Technical Committee (2006-2012)
- Board member of the Swiss NC

Contribution to other organizations:
IEC – working groups: IEC 17C.02, IEC 17A.15, IEC 17A.14 (TF convenor)
Board memberships:
- Electrosuisse (Association for Electrical Engineering, Power and Information Technologies-
- Power Engineering Society Switzerland
- High Voltage Testing- and Engineering Commission Switzerland (Scientific Advisor)

Awards: CIGRE Technical Committee Award, cigre-Honorary Member, IEEE Fellow, Electrosuisse Fellow